A Valentine (Pre-Production Part One: Script)

Posted: January 6, 2018 in scripts, Short Films, writing
Tags: , , , , ,

I developed the script for A Valentine while researching the history of the poem, involving the affair between Poe and Fran. They’d been sending one another essentially love letters through their public poetry. This is bold and not something I’ve personally seen in everyday person’s relationships. Often people continue trying to make something work when it’s way past the possibility of repair. From these thoughts I was brought back to Poe and Fran and their dark love and imagined their relationship in time of high suicide and divorce rates, mental instability, and simple miscommunication. From there my script was born, A Valentine. I think I did two or three ‘drafts’ before production, which was years later. There was no “shooting script”, so what’s different was decided the night before, on location/set, or in the edit.

I wrote this during the easiest of hard times in my life, and I think the story reflects that. Because even if some problems aren’t temporary, they can still be worked on.

[READ/DOWNLOAD: https://tinyurl.com/valentinepdf%5D

Leave a comment